Gross Grooming

I have a sickness.
I love cradle-cap.  I adore boogers.  I crave the milk crust that can collect behind the ears.  I  swoon for toe goo.  I am a fan of infant neck cheese.  And I can’t resist bits of ear wax.

When the kids were itty-bitties, I would say, “God must love me.  A child with cradle-cap!  I have been blessed!!”  I considered it time well-spent if I had “worked” on the scalp that day.  I also took great pleasure in scooping out the neck cheese after a particularly messy feeding.  Milk crust behind the ears is something I still get to enjoy as my 13 month old still suffers from the crust.  I look forward to clipping fingernails and toe nails … offering me a chance to dig the jam out from between their toes.  Yes, I still attack my seven-year-old, poor guy!  Boogers offer me particular pleasure as I get to utilize my favorite grooming accessory, the cotton swab.  Almost nothing gives me such satisfaction as my successful extraction of a ball of slime, or a particularly challenging set of wicker furniture of the nostrils.  But the thing that will have me committed is my obsession with ear wax.  I specifically leave my pinkie fingernail a bit longer so that I can dig out the stubborn  flecks caught in the ear hairs.  [I believe this can be traced back to my junior high school band director.  May the gods bless his genius … but man, as first-chair clarinet, I had to spend a lot of time checkin’ out his ear gunkus.  A.LOT.  Yick.]  And here’s the kicker … I don’t stop at the kids.  Yep.  I attack my poor husband.  Go ahead, puke in your mouth a little bit.  Even I shake my head and ask aloud, “WHAT IS WRONG WITH THIS CHICK??”       

I am a gorilla.  Next thing you know, I’ll turn my face to the heavens and ask for head-lice so I can mess with the nits …
Let’s hope not.

5 Comments »

  1. Megan said

    And you call my inner lip gross…I think you surpass me…

  2. Rachel said

    I was debating on what I should have for breakfast but now I don’t have to worry about that, I couldn’t eat anything if I tried. I think it was actually the longer pinkie nail that did it for me.

  3. Laura said

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. You think you’re technologically challenged? I can’t even get the Ladies of the Round Table button up on my blog! Sad, huh?!

    This post cracked me up! I have a few gross little habits myself, including going after his ears with my pinkie, which drives him crazy! And the boogers used to gross me out, but now I find it a challenge to dig that stuff outta there. 🙂

  4. Jackie V said

    Lorri,

    Wanna hear something weird? Katie V. is obsessed with ear wax too…when she was little i used to have to hide the q-tips from her. Genetics is a powerful thing.

    Me? i love the little blister that forms on a baby’s upper lip.

    I love you.
    Aunt Jackie

  5. […] Hence, the new theme.  I will never invest in having one designed for me — although I SO LOVE to see what people can create with their computer magic — so I perused the market of themes this afternoon and came up with what you see.  Long story longer … I need a diagnosis, people.  This rearranging-of-physical-traits is a condition.  A disease.  I swear.  And this is in addition to that one.   […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment